About mentors

This is a quote that impressed me from Grey’s Anatomy,Sezonul 11, Episodul 13 – Staring at the End.

If you haven’t seen it yet, go watch it now before reading on. It’s worth. And I don’t want to spoil it for you. It has great acting. I had goose bumps watching it a few times. This is one of my favourite episodes, many scenes and script lines touched me.

But today I will chose the mentor speech and write it down because I want to remember it.

On a side note, I would like to know if there is any place where you can read full scripts of Grey’s Anatomy’s episode, in case you want to remember some great quotes or lines from it and don’t want to write them down all the time like I did now😀

Back to the mentor scene.  We see Edwards the intern working with Dr. Amelia Shepherd. Dr. Shepherd is stressed out with the never-been-done-before brain tumor surgery that she needs to perform soon on Dr. Herman’s brain. Hearing her intern suggest to get in touch with her brother makes her lose sense and call her names. Then she apologizes, but Edwards has a fantastic speech and acting of it.

The whole scene that leads to this speech starts around Min 25:30.

This speech is from 27:25 until 28:27 in case you want to re-watch just this part.

Amy Shepherd: “I shouldn’t have said that. I didn’t mean it. I am tired. I am frustrated…. I am so sorry. I just…. This tumor is getting me crazy.”

Edwards: “As bad as you want to get that tumor, that is as bad as I want to watch you get that tumor. You’re tired and frustrated and terrified …but guess what, I don’t give a damn! You’re supposed to be my mentor. You are my mentor. I believe in you. I look up to you. I want to be you. That’s an enormous responsibility. So don’t call me names. And stop pouting because you don’t understand what to do. Be worthy of being believed in, of being looked up to. Or if you can’t actually be worthy, if I am actually wasting my time, if there is nothing about you that is special or wise ….for God’s sake, at least have the decency to pretend that there is. Get it together, Dr. Shephard.”

888795_get_it_together