My Quest

Tonight I’ve watched again “Eat, Pray, Love”  and I must admit this movie is inspiring every time I see it. I see the movie with a whole different perspective now and still full of meaning.

First time I saw it one year ago in cinema and it made me walk home repeating over and over again this quote “Ruin is a gift . Ruin is the road to transformation.” and it inspired me to write a post for my blog in that night…a post for which I lacked the courage to publish it then…probably not admitting to myself  that I could be in personal ruin, as if this could be shameful…it’s not… to stop changing, creating, (re)constructing, moving and walking and giving up without trying my best it’s shameful to me.

A few days ago, seeing again Steve Jobs’ video at Stanford, being inspired by his words, I wrote this post “iAdmire” and it made me remember this movie quote ….so I searched for my post, I re-read it finished it and posted it here: “Ruin is a gift”.

Tonight, during the movie, my mind was captivated by four beautiful scenes:

1) the scene with the pizza from Napoli, here’s the quote

‎”Let me ask you a question? In all the years you’ve undressed in front of a gentleman has he asked you to leave? Has he ever walked out and left? No…
Because he doesn’t care, he’s in the room with a naked girl. He’s won the lottery. I’m so tired of saying no and waking up in morning recalling everything single thing I ate the day before, counting every calorie I consumed so I know how much self loathing to take into the shower. I’m going for it. I have no interest in being obese but I’m just through with the guilt.”

2 ) Felipe’s line  that you can hear at the end of this trailer video

Liz: “I am so sick of people telling me I need a man.”
Felipe (Javier Bardem): “You don’t need a man, you need a champion.”

3) Felipe recommending the best restaurant in town 

4)  the “The Physics of the Quest” idea

In the end, I’ve come to believe in something I call “The Physics of the Quest.” A force in nature governed by laws as real as the laws of gravity. The rule of Quest Physics goes something like this: If you’re brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting, which can be anything from your house to bitter, old resentments, and set out on a truth-seeking journey, either externally or internally, and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher and if you are prepared, most of all, to face and forgive some very difficult realities about yourself, then the truth will not be withheld from you.

The first 3 are clear 🙂 I agree with them, I love them, but the 4th idea  needs a few more thoughts.

The simple fact that I am writing here on this blog from time to time and keep it as personal as possible, inspired by my life moments, inspirations, conclusions, makes me think that I am on my own personal Quest, believing in this “Physics of the Quest” and looking forward to discover my own personal truth. Ok, you might approve this rule, but how do you keep it in your mind so that it guides you to yourself? Liz Gilbert’s solution? Daily mantra:

Whatever you repeat constantly in your head is your mantra whether you know it or not. That is leading you on your way. So, if you’re repeating, I’m a moron, I’m an idiot, I’m a failure, I’m a jerk, I’m a loser, that’s your mantra. So, decide whether that’s working for you? And it might be, if that’s, like, your destination or maybe it’s not, and then maybe you might wanna choose a different thing to try to say whenever you remember that you’re thinking what you’re always doing.

….now what do I know about that? nothing…I’ve never had a mantra before….yes, I had many quotes running around my head, guiding me in my life, but as much as I love all, I cannot say I love one quote and consider it the best …that’s why, no real mantra existed in my life. My decision? I’m willing to give it a try. I like having this  as my daily Quest reminder.  I’ll do my best to start my every morning/day with these 2 phrases(mantra?) that I created now after I saw the movie and read the quote, as a reminder of what I should pay attention to in every moment of the day.  I will also write them in those places where I know that I check them at least once every day (agenda, laptop, blog, phone etc).

Today my teacher is you, all the people who I will interact with, today my life events are my teachers and my clues.  

Today I’m facing and forgiving myself in front of all the difficult  realities and truths that I’ll discover about myself.

