Give & change in a sustainable way

Reading this article on TinyBuddha 

made me put into words something that I knew for a longer time in my soul.

You can’t give to others what you don’t have. You don’t have what you don’t take the time to give to yourself first.

I am thinking of authenticity, honesty, compassion, friendship, love, generosity, patience, support, happiness, calm, healthy habits, wisdom, personal growth, simplicity etc …the list can go on with what you find worthy of your time.

Giving to others it is just like change…the most sustainable change is the one that you start with yourself.

Read this story if you think otherwise or if you think that the previous thoughts are selfish, self-centered or any other word .

The story below was written by an Unknown Monk, in 1100 A.D.

“When I was a young man, I wanted to change the world.I found it was difficult to change the world, so I tried to change my nation. When I found I couldn’t change the nation, I began to focus on my town. I couldn’t change the town and as an older man, I tried to change my family.

Now, as an old man, I realize the only thing I can change is myself, and suddenly I realize that if long ago I had changed myself, I could have made an impact on my family. My family and I could have made an impact on our town. Their impact could have changed the nation and I could indeed have changed the world.”

In other words… Give to yourself what you want to be able to give to the others and…

“Be the change you want to see in the world” Mahatma Gandhi

