Cheesy taste

I’m enjoying Camembert tonight….you know, the french soft cheese with white mouldy exterior, that some hate it, some love it!

example of camembert serving

How did I ended up in Cheesy Taste and Like :p with Brie and Camembert and Weichkasse and all these mouldy cheese types? different white cheese typesMy first reaction, when I heard about cheese with mold on it was  ” No, who, me, eating that mold cheese? Yaaac, No way, never!” ….well… Never say never! :)))) Here I am! :)))

I got some shy tries in some corporate events and cocktails…but always not really getting the taste… and then I came to Munich.  Everywhere in shops, lots of people buying it near me when I was buying the classic conservative cheese….so it made me wonder…what does it have? However, I was not willing to pay my few money on an expensive cheese – or so I considered it then – when I don’t think I will enjoy the taste….so I avoided it.

And then one night, at Cristina’s place, we ate together and then I stayed over night and slept at her…Next day, loooking in the fridge for a breakfast, the only thing that was there available fast was Brie :))) Now what can I do…starve, go out or try it out and give it a chance? And since she was really into this cheese, I said ok, let’s try it out…and because of starving, because of the friendly atmosphere, the talk….I started liking it!

A few days later, Alexia’s mom, dad and me we had an Ouzo night…the only night that we had actually like this, because of a not so nice situation that happened  to them and some alcohol was needed for them. I was there by chance and we talked and we decided to eat and drink together, having a dinner a drink and a talk. Ouzo, fish, aubergine salad (Greek and Romanian style) and some tomatoes and salad near by. It worked for the morale of everyone. And at the end, Alexia’s mom brought a weichkasse with pepper inside, Apostolos’s favourite…woow,  heaven! This is really such a tasty cheese! It is truly my favourite until now, from what I tried – Bresso Weichkaese mit Gruner Pfeffer …as they say, the taste  is delicately spicy!

And after these two experiences, I fell completely in Taste :p with this type of cheese 🙂 ….I started searching for this type of cheese, trying out many types and brands of Brie, Camembert, Weichkaese etc and other mold cheese variations and I will keep tasting and enjoying them. I even found my next cheese that I want to buy…I don’t know if I can find it, but I will try it after I read the description ! :))))  Meet St. André from France:)))

Deserving of its reputation as “the heavenly cheese,” St. André might have an angelic façade, but there is no doubt, that it’s actually straight-up sinful. Enchanting and celebratory, inside the downy rind you’ll find a rich center that adds up to 70% butterfat. Seventy percent: a magic number that tells you this is the cheese for an opulent life, an every day delight and decadence. From the coast of France to your table, St. André is lavish and rich enough for the most special occasions, but merits a place on your daily menu.

I started researching online about the mold used and the health benefits, to understand it a little bit…These cheese types that I liked are mostly referred to as soft white cheeses and bloomy-rind cheeses and are the simplest type of cheese. They are neither fermented nor matured. Their high moisture content, coupled with the high humidity, attracts and encourages the growth of the classic white penicillium mould. This type of cheese is creamy and smooth. They are based on cow’s milk, skimmed or unskimmed, and sometimes enriched with cream. The bloomy rind cheese are neither pressed nor cooked. They are salted and seeded with Penicillium candidum that gives them their bloom (the white down that takes on a golden aspect as it ages.) The mould used for this cheese is from the same mould that gives us the antibiotic Penicillin, therefore really strengthening your immune system, and it’s used for other types of cheese, for yoghurt, for wine and beer fabrication (as long as you can consider healthy the first ones, especially if you have a lack of calcium issue, you will see the benefits of this mould cheese soon 🙂

Some people prefer to eat the mouldy exterior, some don’t eat it…it’s all a matter of personal choice!

And some people prefer it in different recipes..I did not tried cooking / baking it yet, but I did found some interesting recipes to try! 🙂

Enjoying it with the company of a drink or a fruit? For sure! I think a good wine and some tasty fruits are always welcomed next to it, it ads style and it is really a delightful experience. Brie is recommended to be served with a sparkling wine or champagne. A Riesling or Chardonnay is also perfect. If you prefer beer, Brie goes well with pilsners, a hoppy pale ales and fruit ales. The site Ilovecheese recommends for Brie: enjoy it with fruits like green apples, strawberries, pears, and grapes. Brie also loves the company of a good wine – pair it with Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Red Bordeaux or Champagne. More wine and cheese good combinations are recommended in this article.

Go ahead, give it a try 🙂 …You’ll fell in Cheesy Taste! 🙂