There is a way to be good again

This is the tag line of one of the best books I ever read – The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini. Talks about Afghanistan and their culture, their sufferings, their life… I read the book 1 year ago and it impressed me deeply, everyone should really read it. It’s eye-opening about a country that we know so little but we rush to judge so easy….

I could not find back then the movie, only trailers,  and this Friday I finally saw the entire movie  … and I must say it’s one of the few movies that really brought tears to my eyes.

The book is of course so much better, so it can be enough in itself, but if you want to see the movie, you must read the book as well, otherwise you will not understand it, there are so many cultural aspects and thoughts explained in the book that are not clear in the movie, since we’re talking about a culture where many things are implied and they are not supposed to show their emotions….but at least the movie puts faces and a landscape to the entire story related in the book, so it’s worth seeing.

Besides the tag line that is the title of this article, There is a way to be good again I loved also these quotes:

” The man is a Pashtun to the root. He has nang and namoos. Honor and pride.”

“For you, a thousand times over!” spoken by the loyal Hazara boy, Hassan, towards Amir, and spoken in the end by the grown up Amir towards Hassan’s son…

“It was only a smile, nothing more. It didn’t make everything all  right. It didn’t make anything all right. Only a smile. A tiny thing. A leaf in the woods, shaking in the wake of a startled bird’s flight.

But I’ll take it. With open arms. Because when spring comes, it melts the snow one flake at a time, and maybe I just witnessed the first flake melting.”

May you have an eye-opening read!

