The ways…

There are a few songs that are on my mind these weeks (Don’t wait too long – Madeleine Peyroux, Evil ways – Santana, My way – Frank Sinatra , Boa Sorte / Good luck – Vanessa da Mata, But now I’m back – Pink Martini) and I just realized they are all somehow talking about different ways ! So I’ll let you also enjoy the rhythms and the lyrics!

Don’t wait too long – Madeleine Peyroux

You can cry a million tears/ You can wait a million years

If you think that time will change your ways/ Don’t wait to long

When your morning turns to night/  Who’ll be loving you by candlelight

If you think that time will change your ways / Don’t wait to long

Maybe I got a lot to learn / Time can slip away

Sometimes you got to lose it all / Before you find your way

Take a chance, play your part / Make romance, it might brake your heart

But if you think that time will change your ways / Don’t wait to long

It may rain, it may shine / Love will age like fine red wine

But if you think that time will change your ways / Don’t wait to long

Maybe you and I got a lot to learn / Don’t waist another day

Maybe you got to lose it all / Before you find your way

Take a chance, play your part / Make romance, it might brake your heart

But if you think that time will change your ways / Don’t wait to long

Don’t wait / Hmm… Don’t wait

Evil ways – Santana

You’ve got to change your evil ways, baby,  / before I stop lovin’ you.

You’ve got to change, baby, / and every word that I say is true.

You got me runnin’ and hidin’ all over town,

you got me sneakin’ and a-peepin’ and runnin’ you down.

This can’t go on, Lord knows you got to change, baby.

When I come home, baby, / my house is dark and my pots are cold.

You’re hangin’ round, baby, / with Jean and Joan and-a who knows who.

I’m gettin’ tried of waitin’ and foolin’ around,

I’ll find somebody who won’t make me feel like a clown.

This can’t go on, Lord knows you got to change, baby.

My way – Frank Sinatra

I did it my way!  Total classic song, we all know the lyrics, no need to copy them here 🙂

That’s life – Frank Sinatra

That’s life, that’s what all the people say.

You’re riding high in April, / Shot down in May

But I know I’m gonna change that tune,  / When I’m back on top, back on top in June.

I said that’s life, and as funny as it may seem

Some people get their kicks, / Stompin’ on a dream

But I don’t let it, let it get me down, / ‘Cause this fine ol’ world it keeps spinning around

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate, / A poet, a pawn and a king.

I’ve been up and down and over and out / And I know one thing:

Each time I find myself, flat on my face, / I pick myself up and get back in the race.

That’s life / I tell ya, I can’t deny it,

I thought of quitting baby, / But my heart just ain’t gonna buy it.

And if I didn’t think it was worth one single try,  / I’d jump right on a big bird and then I’d fly.

Boa Sorte / Good luck – Vanessa da Mata

Vanessa:

É só isso / Não tem mais jeito / Acabou, boa sorte

Não tenho o que dizer / São só palavras / E o que eu sinto / Não mudará

Tudo o que quer me dar / É demais / É pesado / Não há paz

Tudo o que quer de mim / Irreais / Expectativas / Desleais

Ben Harper:

That’s it / There’s no way / It’s over / Good luck

I’ve nothing left to say / It’s only words / And what l feel / Won’t change

Vanessa da Mata/Ben Harper:

Tudo o que quer me dar / (Everything you want to give me)

É demais / (It’s too much)

É pesado / (It’s heavy)

Não há paz / (There is no peace)

Tudo o que quer de mim / (All you want from me)

Irreais / (Isn’t real)

Expectativas / (Expectations)

Desleais

Vanessa:

Mesmo se segure / Quero que se cure / Dessa pessoa / Que o aconselha

Há um desencontro Veja por esse ponto / Há tantas pessoas especiais

Ben Harper:

Now even if you hold yourself / I want you to get cured / From this person / Who advises you

There is a disconnection / See through this point of view / There are so many / Special people in the world / All you want

Vanessa da Mata/Ben Harper:

Tudo o que quer me dar / (Everything you want to give me)

É demais / (It’s too much)

É pesado / (It’s heavy)

Não há paz / (There’s no peace)

Tudo o que quer de mim / (All you want from me)

Irreais / (isn’t real)

Expectativas / (That expectations)

Desleais

Vanessa da Mata/Ben Harper:

Now we’re falling / Falling, falling

Falling into the night / Into the night

Falling, falling, falling / Falling into the night

Um bom encontro é de dois

But now I’m back – Pink Martini

My dear Maria / I’m here to see ya / Won’t you please, please open the door

I brought ya flowers / Been waitin’ hours / Can’t stand it anymore

So here’s what happened / While you were nappin’ / I just went out for a snack

I was feelin’ famished / And then I vanished… / But now I’m back

Now he’s back / Had a snack / Now he’s back

My heart is burning / For that love of ours / Yearning

For that sea of stars / Let me in so I can prove to you

That no one else / Can love you, girl / The way that I do

Oh, how I miss ya / I wanna kiss ya / And hold you close / From dusk to dawn

So let’s just make up / And when you wake up / I promise not to be gone

You know I love ya / Dream only of ya / So please, please cut me some slack

I went away / Just a couple of days… / But now I’m back

Now he’s back / Cut him slack / Now he’s back

Maria, baby, / I guess that maybe / You’re still a little angry with me

But it’s getting late and / The boys are waitin’ / Gotta get something to eat

I better go now / I hope you know now / I love you, that’s a fact

Gotta hurry / But don’t you worry, babe… / Cause I’ll be back

He’ll be back / It’s a fact / He’ll be back / Don’t attack…

I must say that the last one is the one that brings a smile on my face whenever I hear it, and I think the happy rhythm has a big part in it, since the lyrics do not show the happiest situation ever!

So, what’s your favourite?